top of page

A self-taught fashion designer building a brand

"Mfundo lives and breathes fashion as he describes it to be his life. He is working towards getting the recognition that he deserves as a young fashion designer"

By: Lerato Moteane

Mfundo Phama (26) from Greenfields, Katlehong is a self-taught fashion designer with a vision of taking his brand to greater heights. Fashion design is what he holds dearly to his heart and that’s where his passion lies.Born and bred in Umtata, Eastern Cape, Mfundo comes from a disadvantaged background, but that did not stop him from envisioning greater things. He said , “I have a needle, a thread and also my hands; I don’t have a sewing machine so I sew bags using my own hands.” Mfundo want youth to be empowered and be given the platform to showcase their talents. “We have dreams of making it in life, but if there is no one to recognise our dreams , where will that lead to?” he asked. He enrolled to study Civil Engineering with Umtata Technical College,though he could not finish his qualification. Fashion designing came as his calling . “Right now I am trying to push what God has given me, because I believe in my talent, ”he said. He describes ‘Love Collection’ brand as his baby that wants to be protected by all means. Mfundo plans on registering his brand and getting funding for it, so that he get off the ground. “I can tell myself its my brand and then someone comes to snatch the idea from me, so I’m trying to think of ways to protect what’s mine,” says Mfundo. Mfundo has a creative mind. He says “you can’t say you’re in the fashion industry while you copy what has been done before.” He further adds “each of the bags that I own has a message behind them, the reason why I’m not selling because they are of a sentimental value. Mfundo aspires to be like David Tlale and Gert-Johan Coetzee in the fashion designers industry.As an up-and-coming fashion designer, he wants to be recognised for his work as he believes that he has what it takes to become the next big thing.


91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page