top of page

Afrika Gola makes academics fashionable

Afrika Gola was born and bred in Tsakane, currently studying towards her master’s degree at the University of Witwatersrand. She has mastered the art of making academics fashionable and being one of Johannesburg’s most sought-after stylists through her company FearLes Afrika. An introvert at heart, Afrika said she is dedicated and pours her heart into everything that she does. She is inspired by the women in her life, despite their backgrounds and lack of resources,they have managed to become successful in their own rights. Not only does Afrika have a unique and fashionable name but has the enviable skill of finding a balance between being fashionable, building her brand and academic career. “Some things come naturally and fashion is one of those things that are just a part of me. I wouldn’t be me without the fashion, it’s something that I grasped from a very young age coming from a generation of stylish women,” Afrika said. She said,” I treat my academics as part of growth, a passage to go through in order to get where i wants to be in the future”. She previously studied mechanical engineering but decided to drop out because her heart was not in the course. Later she discovered the love for South Africa’s language policies and cultures, a passion that has her pursuing a master’s in African languages majoring in computation linguistics. “It’s been a great journey, knowing where I want to be and education has provided me with the skills and mental preparation for that.” In addition to obtaining her honours degree Afrika said, starting her personal styling business is a significant accomplishment, which took courage and a lot of hard work in order to build a name for herself in the industry. However, her busy life does not stop her from taking time off to relax. “I’m a firm believer in taking some time out to treat myself. So, when I have time I go to a spa or just stay at home, switch off my phone and sleep. I sleep like I get paid to do it.” Afrika’s instagram feed is every fashionista’s mood board, with amazing pictures of her outfits, outings and enviable travels which have afforded her memorable experiences. “Going to Coachella in LA has to be the best memorable one even though I’ve gone twice but I still feel like I’d go again. I think most importantly it’s the company that made it special and memorable for me because I went with my besties.” With a timeless and classic aesthetic, Afrika said her fashion sense is to stay true and piecing together outfits that work for her. “As much as I’m a fashionista, I understand that not everything is going to work for me. Therefore, I stay away from anything that makes me look ridiculous and uncomfortable. “She’s also an avid reader”.


0 views0 comments
bottom of page