top of page

I ALWAYS HAD A PASSION OF SINGING

By:Nobuhle The great influential musician and member of the EJE (Ekurhuleni Jazz Ensembe), Thabo “Trombplayer" Masilela (23), is based Etwatwa,Daveyton. He was raised by his grandmother and a single mother after his father passed away in 2011, but that didn’t serve a barrier for him to pursue his dreams. “I always had a passion of singing,” the player of hip-hop, gospel, jazz, afro, house and circular music said, “I joined a church brass band at St Philip Apostolic Church of South Africa under Bishop Mokoena and a Clap and Tap choir under the leadership of Jacob Manyena in Wattville. They both groomed me in my craft. “2016 after completing my matric, I decided to study music full-time basis at The Music Academy of Gauteng under the leadership of Johnney Mekoa. Over the years, I had gigs and hype.” That gave me exposure to share stages with jazz legends like Khaya Mahlangu, Prince Lengoase, the late Johnny Mokoa , international artists like The Temptations,the Manhattan SA and other upcoming artists ,he said. Thabo had an opportunity to travel Africa with The Temptation and Tshepi live in Botswana, South Africa, Zambia and Namibia (2019). He hosted his show “Africa night with Thabone and friends; the musical experience” on the 4th of May 2019 as part of his birthday celebration. Various artists like Bongani Radebe, Bekezela, Zanele Dlamini and the Kwaito Kings and friends helped partake in his celebration. He played with Samthing Soweto on one of his upcoming track “Azishe” hosting again next year on the 3rd of May 2020.“People are and can make a living out of music. However, if there was anything I would rather change in the music industry would be the exploitation of the upcoming artists. I would also love to collaborate with Lira and Mafikizolo, Wyne Cliff Gordon internationally.”


4 views0 comments
bottom of page