top of page

MUSIC DO THE TALKING FOR A GOSPEL SINGER

“Lehlohonolo has managed to change people’s perceptions towards what he looks like, into being judged for who he is and what makes him unique from the rest”

By: Lerato Moteane

Lehlohonolo (22) is a gospel singer from Katlehong. It all started when he was still young,singing gospel music is a passion for him and there is nothing that he does best than that. Lehlohonolo has been singing for years and his mother keeps on inspiring him to do the best. Singing runs in the family and it’s a culture to Lehlohonolo since he grew up with it. “My mother like gospel music very much and I followed her footsteps, and it led me to sing gospel and no other genre because I fell in love with it,” he says. Letlhogonolo promotes music through doing live performances in busy places such as mall and ranks, He want people to buy his music and be recognized as an artist from the township. “I have been performing in places such as Katlehong, Thokoza and Vosloorus to mention a few, and I plan in going to other places as well, even outside my region so that I can be able to reach a larger audience and increase my fan base” he said. When he sings people begin to look beyond his physical appearance, and judge him for who he is. Letlhogonolo explains how he got bowlegs, “I was hit by a car and they tried to correct my bowlegs, only to find out that my bones have hardened.” His views on CD pirating “this is killing us as up coming artists , we live off from the money we get here. If we, as people who have the copyrights, fail to sell those CDs then it means we can’t put food on the table for our families.” Lehlohonolo’s wish is to see himself making it far in his musical journey and hopes to inspire people through his music. He wants his name to be called alongside big names such as Benjamin Dube, Dumi Mkokstad, Lebo Sekgobela and so on.


9 views0 comments
bottom of page