top of page

Young rapper from Duduza is ready to shine. His new single, Hustle, has been widely welcomed by fans

By Mamello Maila

The Duduza, hip hop artist Omphemetse “A-Low” Mothantlane (17), is a rising superstars to dazzle the hip hop world through his sassy and hard-hitting lyrics.

The self-taught rapper started in high school and his music is inspired by deep vocal house music. “I come from a family where everyone loves music. My grandfather used to play piano,” Mothantlane said. Music has always been a part of his family’s lives. What inspired him most was the fact that his sister played the flute in a choir,while their mother was a choir teacher.“His family has always been an inspiration for the journey. My cousin used to have a rap battle with his friends, though I’m the one who is pursuing hip hop,” he said.“I genuinely love making music, I don’t see myself doing anything else.” Mothantlane added. He has never tried to emulate, copy or even compare himself to anyone, neither does he worry about what everybody else is doing. “I write my own wave and rap about things that are happening in my life or that I can relate to.”

His new single, Hustle, has been widely welcomed by his fans and is dominating radio stations. The song has been enlisted at MFM, Alex FM, UBlive and Gagasi FM.

The young rapper said, his favourite artist is the multi-talented Jacques Berman Webster II, also known as Travis Scott. Mothantlane is doing grade 12 at Boys High Springs. He said he aspires to pursue music and study film and television.

He started experimenting with different sounds to form his unique sounds that would make him standout from the crowd. He adds that being different is not always easy.

“People will look at you as if you crazy, but for me the important part is to do what I love,while learning and growing on a daily basis.”

He is signed by Deep Elevation Entertainment, which he believes has helped him reach a wider market. He is currently working on collaborating with up-and-coming Nigerian artist Hpee.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page