top of page

Helping to improve learners' marks through private tutoring lessons

By: Lerato Moteane

While the unemployment rate is high in South Africa, Ayanda Nkosi from Spruitview chose to use her know-how into good use by offering tutoring lessons to learners so that they could improve at school. Apart from helping the kids with their academics, she has always loved passing on her knowledge to the next person and enrich people's minds. She decided to start tutoring in early 2019, while on the process of looking for a job after having graduated. A Bcom economics graduate from the University of Johannesburg, Ayanda didn't want to spend her time not doing anything productive, that's the reason why she decided to turn this into a business and make a living out of it. Ayanda adds and says that "I was job hunting for some time and a few months went by without getting anything, and I didn't like the idea of me not having anything to look forward to the next day. So I knew that I'm good when it comes to academics and I was getting good marks at school, and I thought why not generate an income out of what I'm good at, and it has worked well for me so far." Ayanda mentions that she likes having intellectual and emotionally fulfilling conversations so that she can learn from the next person when conversing. "I never stop learning and I love it when someone challenges me intellectually. Thought provoking subjects; things that stimulates the mind are my favorite because I know that there's something beneficial that I would take from it," she said. Being a tutor for students from grade 8-12 is what she enjoys doing and she has fun more than anything when she holds her sessions. Ayanda says that "my sessions are one-on-one, which allows me to give each and every of my students personal and full attention, which also enables me to administer their progress individually and help wherever they need to improve on." Since lockdown was put to place in late March, Ayanda now holds online sessions with her students so that they can continue getting the help they need.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page